Shared Folders

Definition of Shared Folders in The Network Encyclopedia.

Sponsor: Dating tips for MEN or WOMEN! You Don't have to be alone!

What is Shared Folders?

An administrative snap-in for Microsoft Windows 2000 that lets you monitor and manage access to resources on the network. Shared Folders can be installed in a new console or accessed from the System Tools node in the Computer Management administrative tool.

How It Works

The function of Shared Folders is similar to that of the Server Manager administrative tool in Microsoft Windows NT. You can use Shared Folders to perform the following actions on either the local or the remote servers on the network:

  • View users currently connected to network resources and disconnect them from these resources
  • Send administrative messages to users before you disconnect them from network resources
  • View files currently opened by remote users and close them
  • Share folders on remote computers
  • Create, view, and configure permissions on network shares
  • Configure a Macintosh-accessible volume

    Graphic S-11. Shared Folders.

NOTE

To use Shared Folders to manage all computers in a given domain, you must be a member of the Administrators or Server Operators group for that domain. If you want to manage only a specific member server, you must be a member of the Administrators or Power Users group for that member server.

TIP

Monitoring access to network resources with the Shared Folders administrative snap-in can help you do the following:

  • Plan for future system growth to satisfy current trends in resource usage
  • Monitor access to resources for security reasons
  • Notify users who will be disconnected from resources during scheduled or unscheduled system maintenance operations

There are several reasons why you might want to disconnect users from resources on the network:

  • The server needs to be shut down for maintenance or rebooted for some reason (such as a hardware or software upgrade).
  • Idle connections to the resource are preventing access by other users because the maximum number of connections to the resource has been reached.
  • Shared folder or NTFS permissions have been changed on the resource, and users must be disconnected so that the new permissions will apply to them.
  • Unauthorized users are accessing resources for which they have been accidentally granted permission.